dr.fone User Guides

Get started, get the essentials

dr.fone - Erase (iOS): How To

Want to wipe the personal data, such as contacts, messages, call history, photos, notes, calendar, Safari bookmarks, reminders, etc? Here comes dr.fone - Erase (iOS) that allows you to choose items to be deleted thoroughly and won't be recovered again.

Video Guide: How to Erase iPhone/iPad Private Data?

Try It Free Try It Free

Step 1. Connect your device to the computer

Install and launch dr.fone on your computer. Select Erase from all the functions.

erase iphone privacy

Connect your iOS device to the computer with a lightening cable. If you see a Trust This Computer alert on your iDevice, tap Trust.

connect iphone to computer

Once dr.fone recognizes your iPhone/iPad, it displays two options for you, Erase Full Data and Erase Private Data. Choose Erase Private Data to continue.

erase privacy on iphone

Step 2. Scan the private data on your iPhone

Now, scan all the private data in your iPhone by clicking on the “Start Scan” button on the display.

scan iphone private data

This may take a while to scan completely. Please be patient and wait for its end.

select private data to erase

Step 3. Start erasing private data on your iPhone permanently

Once the scanning is done in a few minutes, the program will list all of your private data on its screen, such as photos, messages, contacts, call history and more. You can then select what you want to erase and then press on "Erase from the Device".

Since the erased data will not be recoverable, you can't be too careful to proceed. You will be asked to confirm this action by typing “delete” on the box given. Then click on the button "Erase now".

private data erasing confirmation

Now, simply relax and take a cup of coffee. It will take some time to erase your iOS data permanently. During the process, your iPhone/iPad will be restarted a few times. Please don't unplug your device to ensure a successful data erasure.

erase iphone privacy

Once the process is complete, you will see an "Erase Completed" message on the window of the program.

erase iphone privacy